Whole30 for picky eaters?

gtinari

I'm really considering my first Whole30 next month when I move into my own apartment, as it'll be easier to do when I'm in control of the grocery shopping. (I'm a college student.)

My biggest fear about the Whole30 is the fact that I'm currently somewhat of a picky eater. Not too many tastes satisfy me. Chicken, in fact, is really the only meat I eat. Occasionally turkey or maybe a hamburger, but that's it. Only seafood if fried, like calamari or clam strips. I eat fruits and vegetables, but maybe 5 or 6 varieties of fruit and only a few vegetables.

My question is, will the Whole30 be able to actually train my taste buds to enjoy new foods? I'm willing to just start buying shrimp or pork and eating it as part of my Whole30 if it means that I'll actually start to like these foods. I'm just afraid that my current picky eating habits will endure through the Whole30 and I'll find myself repeatedly eating from the same limited menu and/or getting bored with my meals.

Thanks!

I'm just afraid that my current picky eating habits will endure through the Whole30 and I'll find myself repeatedly eating from the same limited menu and/or getting bored with my meals.

Definitely possible! I just finished a Whole30 by eating only 10 types of food: http://forum.whole9life.com/topic/26685-w30-project-x/

I didn't do it because I'm a picky eater (it was my 4th or 5th W30) but to give an example to others about how you can complete the 30 days without doing a lot of fancy things.

• Moderators

My biggest fear about the Whole30 is the fact that I'm currently somewhat of a picky eater. Not too many tastes satisfy me. Chicken, in fact, is really the only meat I eat. Occasionally turkey or maybe a hamburger, but that's it. Only seafood if fried, like calamari or clam strips. I eat fruits and vegetables, but maybe 5 or 6 varieties of fruit and only a few vegetables.