Help with plan before I start

Hello!  I'm new to the Whole 30 - jump started in a couple of weeks ago - then read the book and realized I was making some mistakes and this probably isn't the best time for me to do the Whole 30 with what is coming up in my life over the next few months.  However, even with the "mistakes" I've made (cured bacon being the major one I think) I feel much better and would like to do a "modified version" until I actually do the Whole30 starting in mid-January.  My plan is to continue on without the dairy, just a few legumes (peanut butter), very limited grains and limited added sugar (like the cured bacon).  My reasoning (justification?) is that I would still be eating much better than before - and ultimately that is the goal of the whole 30 in concept, right?  Understand, I realize that in the next 2.5 months I will likely eat something with cheese in it and have popcorn.

My questions:

Does this make sense or am I just justifying doing what I want to do?

If my main concerns of this interim plan are 1) to not let the sugar dragon take back over and 2) to still get my body used to using fat for energy, what do I need to be most careful about making sure I really limit?   Obviously added sugar (soda, candy, and watch what is in other foods).  Would the grains be the next biggest concern?

Thank you!

• Moderators

There is no such thing as a 'modified version' of Whole 30. You're either doing it or not doing it.  That's not to say that making your own plan for the next few months isn't a good idea, but no one here can give you advice on a 'modified version' because that doesn't exist. Knowingly eating cheese, popcorn, sugar filled bacon and legumes are in direct contradiction to Whole30.