almond butter/advacado/banana/coconut milk smoothie

Pdy246

Can I have almond butter, advocado, banana and cococut milk all blended together in a food processor? Or am I just trying too hard to find something sweet??? I thought I could have it on fruit as a kind of delicious dressing?

If you're on the whole 30, I don't think so. Smoothie-type concoctions are out. Too much like a SWYPO (sex with your pants on) treat and not real, unprocessed food. It'll be like taking all the natural sugars and fats in those yummy foods and injecting them straight in to your bloodstream!

Does sound delicious, though!

Yes, I'm an ignorant newbie (day 28/30). Also a doc who's trying to be a student of all this stuff. So, Jodea, is your discouragement of the smoothie on nutritional grounds, or psychological grounds? Because nutritionally, logically whether the components are consumed separately or in the aggregate, should it really make any difference? Psychologically, you may have a point. Ultimately, philosophically, what difference does it make if poor, sweet-starved Pdy246 gets a fix by pouring a small amount of the concoction on her apple slices. I am hopeful that as long as a nutrient source isn't in breech of the basic tenets of the program, then why not enjoy? I guess you'd have to monkey around with concepts like 'glycemic index' to really show a disadvantage of Pdy's recipe.

Anyway, maybe it is the psychological breech after all.

Liquid meals are pretty much out and discouraged .... Liquids don't hit the saity hormones the way digesting solid foods do....

Plus your concoction is, lets face it , a milkshake. Good ingredients, but a milkshake none the less. Plus look how much food you are ingesting and it's not even a meal.... No vegetable,no protein